Still Battling Negative Behavior.

January 15, 2015

I know I haven’t done a real post in a while. I have been so busy with work and Jake.

First of all Jake is not doing better, it has been two weeks of nothing but naughty behavior at school. We can’t get him to stop. We have tried everything. We are literally at our wits end, there is not a whole lot we can take. Being thrown into this has been hard enough as it is and now him acting up and not stopping is getting old quickly.

Yesterday it took another bad turn. He started getting violent with the kids on the bus. He was actually punching other kids. I have never seen him do that, we are guessing that it is the wrestling he is watching. There is a PPV on next Sunday and last night he got himself grounded from it and Raw for a while. He hasn’t gotten to see it in the last two weeks because of his behavior.

Jake has been throwing, pushing, and slamming chairs, he has been talking back to the teacher, and the daycare woman. He has been fighting with other kids, not doing his class work, shutting down completely and not talking to anyone. I sat down and had a talk with him the other night and he promised to do better and not cause any more trouble and it was worse. He won’t tell me what is wrong.

I had a conversation with my mother about it yesterday and she suggested putting him on medication. I won’t do it unless it gets to where he absolutely needs it. I have been down that road when I was a kid, they would give me one medicine and I would have bad side effects, then they would try another and I would be a zombie, I don’t want him to go through the same thing I did. He is 5 and that is not fair.

I wrote a note to his teacher and asked if there was a way for him to talk to a school counselor and maybe see if she could figure out what was wrong with him. I feel like maybe it is his birth mom. But she hasn’t called or tried to message on social media or text, just nothing. It has been a few weeks now and I am not playing games anymore. But, back to Jake. Maybe it is because we don’t spend enough time with him. I want to play games with him this weekend. I work on Saturday but I am done at 6 and I was thinking about buying some board games (or making some DIY) and teaching him how to play.

I also feel like I am my fiance’s support system in this whole thing. He knows less than I do about children and he is always looking to me for right and wrong. I am not complaining though because we both need each other to get Jake through this. It is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. That includes battling depression. I thought that was hard but, this, this is harder. Anyone have any ideas for discipline? I was also told to let him let off some steam. Any ideas on that? We just need help. Plain and simple.

Does being a parent really make us this crazy or are some people just better at it than others?

Regardless of all the trouble we are having with him I am glad he is here with us and I still wouldn’t change a thing. Ok, maybe I am nuts!

Thanks for reading. Again, feedback is definitely appreciated!

Still Battling Negative Behavior.

2 thoughts on “Still Battling Negative Behavior.

    1. That makes sense. I finally got him started on this thing where if he is upset, instead of crying and throwing a fit he comes and tells me that he is upset and why so we can fix it. It is slowly working, I just hope that he keeps up with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

