What Should I Do?

December 9th, 2014

Having my son’s biological mom in jail is a tough subject to talk about with him. He hasn’t brought her up in a while but, he will say he misses her when he is in trouble. His father and I are having a hard time figuring out what to say when this comes up. I have tried to tell him that I am sorry that she got in trouble but he can’t bring up his mom every time it happens.I don’t know if I am doing the right thing or not.

We have had many talks with him about this and other things he has been doing recently and I swear I feel like a broken record. For the most part he is a really good kid. There are just times when he will do things just to make us mad. Like he feels like he needs to be naughty to get our attention. I don’t understand his thinking on that. I ask him, “do you like being scolded?” or “do you like being in trouble?” His answer is always no, of course.

I agree, when it comes to having talks like this I am kind of clueless. I am equipped for changing diapers and making bottles at this point. I have pretty much skipped that and ran straight to discipline and homework. It sucks to be honest. I love my son, don’t get me wrong. I love him with all of my heart, I just wish that I would have gotten the chance to hold him as a baby and rock him to sleep. Being that my fiancé and I have been trying for almost 2 years now with no luck, it is just a loss.

As far as jumping right in I think we are doing ok. He has learned so much since he has been here. He is starting to read, and I am so proud of that. He has so much better manners than he did when he came to our house. I mean they were terrible, he didn’t say the normal please and thank you, no excuse me. It was like he was never taught anything. I don’t want to be one of those step-moms that bad mouths their child’s real mother, but she didn’t leave him very much.

I really hope no one takes that the wrong way but we have worked hard to get Jake where he is today. And I am very proud of both my fiancé and myself.

What Should I Do?

Leave a Reply

